Goals for the School Year

day one

So, this is my first post in a 30 day blog challenge. This challenge was created by teachthought.com (see it here) and ran for the month of September.

In true LaCroix fashion, I am just starting :).

Day 1. Write your goals for the school year.  Be as specific or abstract as you would like to be.

As we begin a new school year, I find that there are so many goals I wish to accomplish.  From the smallest of things to the biggest of ideas.  My goals are worded as questions that I would like to explore through this school year.

  1. How can I support teachers as they improve in their teaching practice?
    Our teachers do an amazing job with students each and everyday.  I truly believe that my role is to support them as they become the best teacher they can be.  This holds true for the newest teachers and the veteran teachers.  To support teachers, I need to be present and available.  I need to be present in the hallways, in the classrooms, during recess and lunch.  Walking through classrooms, helping out during projects, and hallway conversations all provide me with information to help teachers grow and learn.  The Vice-Principal and I have developed a formal observation plan for our school.  Through these more formal observations and conversations, we are able to provide our teachers with valuable feedback about their teaching practice.  We also want to incorporate peer-observations this year as a way for teachers to give and receive meaningful feedback.
  2. How can I support students as they learn and grow?
    We have many ways to support students in our district and our school.  My goal is to understand our students as unique individuals in our learning environment.
  3. How can we enhance learning through the integration of technology?
    We are fortunate to have an abundance of technology in our school.  My goal this year is to ensure that we are not using the technology to replace a traditional worksheet.  Instead, how can we best utilize the technology we have available.
  4. How can we integrate Project Based Learning into what we are already doing?
    I have spent a lot of time researching and developing an understanding of project based learning.  I want to find a way to encourage teachers to develop one project based learning experience for their students through the school year.  This will require time, support and patience.  But I believe we can do it!
  5. How can we engage our families as meaningful partners in the learning process?
    Parents and families are busier than ever.  However, we believe that when parents and families are involved, students do better in school.  We want our families to be involved in our school.  We are planning three family fun nights through the school year in hopes to have some fun while learning!

I am sure that I will think of more goals as the year progresses, but it’s a start.  Any feedback, ideas or advice would be appreciated!

:)S

Leave a Reply

