Something to Say…

talking

Before March of this year, I had never even thought of blogging about my professional experiences or opinions. I had briefly considered blogging about my parenting experiences. As a mother of four, there are some things I feel I could say, funny stories, silliness and some serious topics. But I had never ventured past the initial thought process.

Then at our teachers convention in March a session titled, “The Networked Leader” caught my attention. I had heard about twitter, but didn’t feel that following celebrities would impact my teaching. :) Blogging was in the session description as well. So, I went…

In the end, I dove into the world of twitter and blogging. And I love it (mostly).

I find myself struggling to write meaningful posts. It is easy to write reflective pieces about my experiences, but the posts with opinion and fact are more difficult. And I am haunted by a statement the presenter of the session (the infamous George Couros @gcouros) made. He said, as admin if you have nothing to say, get out of admin. Now, he went on to qualify that statement and it totally made sense to me.  He also wrote about it in his post, “The Prophets in Your Land”

However, I continued to struggle to find “something to say.”

This process has forced me to reflect on my leadership style. How can I make a meaningful difference at a school if I have nothing to say? How can I effectively run a school if I have nothing to say? So I forced myself to consciously notice when I “say something.”  Through this process, I discovered that I do “say” a lot and have a lot to offer to students and teachers.  Also, moving from my school, my students and staff provided many examples of ways that I “say” things and meaningful examples of what I said.

I attempt to take a gentle and coach-like approach.  I take the time to think about the best approach of  how I can best support and encourage , rather than tell students and staff “the right way” to do things. I provide suggestions, articles, research, and support.  I have never said, I have all the right answers, but I will assist in finding the answers.  I enjoy this part of my job.  I feel that anyway I can help make the job of a teacher easier or more efficient, it is worth my time.

So, I guess I do have something to say.  Maybe my struggle was more with how to put it out there.   I value and respect my colleagues, within my district, city, province and now PLN.  My hope is that they find value in what I have to “say.”

:)S

6 thoughts on “Something to Say…

  1. I am glad you realized how much you have to say. You are a little “IN-Famous” yourself…many people told me how amazing of an administrator you are within your own district. My job was to get you to use that expertise to help others :) Glad you listened!

  2. Hi Shelly

    I really liked your post as I can relate. I have just started a blog (again inspired by a professional learning session by George) and often find it difficult to start. What I have started to learn through the process is;
    it doesn’t matter that what I write feels obvious as it may not be obvious to everyone
    that sometimes the purpose of the blog is to take the time to reflect and think
    and sometimes it’s nice to read a blog and think – yeah me too!!
    Good luck with your future blogging

  3. Shelly, great post! Your compassion and commitment come through clearly in your writing. Thank you for realizing that you have something to say. You most definitely do! I look forward to reading more of your writing.

  4. Shelly,

    Thank you for your post. I, too, have been interested in blogging, but have felt the same way about struggling with “something to say”. I love your point about “consciously noticing when you say something.” I will start to pay more attention to my voice and what I do “say”. Thank you for sharing.

  5. Shelly,

    I enjoyed your post. I am also that kind of leader. While, I find I am not saying very much, things are changing around me in a big way. I often think, “how is all this happening?” One teacher said something to me that I will always remember, “you have such a quiet leadership style. But, I feel you have given me my wings this year and just let me fly.” I love that! That is my goal as a leader – to help teachers find their wings (and have them soar above us all-and not even realize they are doing it).

    Happy blogging,
    Tia

  6. Pingback: Getting past “bloggers block” | Learning. Reflecting. Connecting.

Leave a Reply

