Being Invisible

Image

I love it when I walk into a classroom and nothing happens.  

Really!

When I walk into a classroom and the students continue working and the teacher continues teaching…I know I am doing an okay job.  To me, it means that I am in the classroom enough that students do not even take notice when I am there.  Actually, today when I was leaving a classroom, a little girl looked up at me and asked, “Hey, when did you get here!”

Spending time in the classroom is part of my job that I love.  It is sometimes the most difficult but the most important part of my day.  I observe students: students learning, students struggling, students laughing.  I get to ask, “What are you learning about?” and “How can I help?”    Being at my school for 5 years, I  have the opportunity to watch students progress and grow.  I recently observed a child successfully answer a math problem, when I remember working with that student in a math group a couple of years ago.  Today I listened to a grade three student read a passage from a book well above a grade three level, and remembered working through a series of grade one sight words with that student just last year.

Being present in classrooms gives me the opportunity to help teachers.  After I have spent some time in a classroom I find myself asking the teacher, “Explain to me what was happening before I walked in…” or “Where was this lesson leading to?” or even, “Have you considered…?”  As I gain more experience with instructional coaching, I am becoming more confident in asking deeper and more meaningful questions.  I am looking for more than, “is the classroom managed?”  I attempt to  give teachers immediate and meaningful feedback on what I see on a daily basis.  There are so many amazing teachers in my building, I love telling them that!  They also appreciate when I ask them questions for clarification or questions to consider…I think :)  I also find myself sending them a link or copying an article that they might find interesting or practical.

I have done a lot of reading (books and blogs) about classroom observations and visits. I see this as an essential part of being an effective administrator.  I will continue on this worthwhile path of being “invisible” when I walk into a room.  My goal is to work on what happens after I leave the classroom, providing feedback and support to both teachers and students.  A work in progress…

2 thoughts on “Being Invisible

  1. Impressed that you’re doing this. Impressed that you dived headfirst into Twitter. Thanks for putting yourself out there so we can all benefit from your knowledge and perspective.
    And teachers do like questions for clarification or consideration. And we really like useful links! I’m using the royal ‘we’ because I’m sure I’m not the only one.

  2. Congrats on starting you blog. Love today’s idea about being invisible. Something I am still striving for. Too easy at times to get caught up in “managerial land” and miss out on the most important thing, the children. So today… I will be intentional with my time.

Leave a Reply

